Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Fort Lauderdale Criminal Defense Lawyer / Westin Weapon Offense Lawyer

Westin Weapon Offense Lawyer

Unlawful possession, concealed carry without a license, public discharge, and other weapons offenses can be tried as felonies, resulting in heavy fines, probation, and lengthy prison sentences. Florida treats weapons offenses as serious crimes, and you need legal representation whether this is your first run-in with the criminal justice system or not. Our Westin weapon offense lawyer at Haber | Blank LLP has invaluable experience in and out of the courtroom, and the know-how needed to have your case dismissed or plead down to a more reasonable offense or set of penalties.

The Most Common Weapons Offenses in Florida

  • Unlicensed Carry—Carrying a firearm without a permit is a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of $1,000 fine.
  • Unlawful Discharge of a Firearm—Firing a gun in public is a first-degree misdemeanor, or a third degree felony, depending on where the incident occurred. For example, discharging a firearm in a residential area is a first-degree misdemeanor. Discharging a gun from a vehicle within 1,000 feet of another person is a second-degree felony, punishable by up to 15 years in prison.
  • Possession of a Firearm as a Felon—Convicted felons in Florida face severe punishment for carrying a firearm or having a firearm in their possession. A felon in possession of a firearm is a second degree felony with a mandatory minimum stance of three years in prison.

Other Weapons Offenses We Handle

  • Unlawful purchase
  • Unlawful sale
  • Unlawful exhibition of a firearm
  • Possession of an illegal firearm
  • Illegal manufacturing of a firearm
  • Allowing a child under 16 access to a loaded firearm

Myths About Concealed Carry

Governor Ron DeSantis recently made it legal for gun owners to carry concealed, without a license. However, the new law does not make it okay for anyone to concealed carry. In order to do so legally, you must meet all of the same requirements necessary to apply for the old, concealed carry license under statute 790.06. For example, you must be at least 21 years old, have never been convicted of a felony, have a permit for the firearm, cannot be an alcoholic, etc. Violations of this law constitute a second-degree misdemeanor.

Possessing a Firearm While Engaged in a Criminal Offense

If, during the commission of a felony offense, a defendant allegedly possessed a firearm, they face an automatic mandatory minimum increase in their penalty under Florida’s 10/20/life law as follows:

  • 10 years for possession of a firearm
  • 20 years for discharging the firearm
  • 25 years to life if someone was seriously injured, or killed

Furthermore, it is a third-degree felony to carry a weapon (not including a firearm) during the commission of a felony crime, and second degree felony to carry a firearm during the commission of a felony crime, such as a robbery or burglary.

Call a Westin Weapons Offense Lawyer

Weapons offenses, including firearms, tasers, knives, mace, and other deadly weapons, must not be taken lightly, especially when they are combined with other misdemeanor or felony offenses. For experienced legal representation, call the Westin weapons offense lawyers at Haber | Blank LLP today at 954-767-0300 to schedule a free consultation.