Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Fort Lauderdale Criminal Defense Lawyer / West Palm Beach Weapon Offense Lawyer

West Palm Beach Weapon Offense Lawyer

Florida treats weapons violations as serious offenses, many of which have mandatory minimum sentences that will put convicted offenders behind bars for years. Even if you violated state law unintentionally, such as driving with a firearm to a shooting range without having a permit for the gun, you can face misdemeanor or felony charges. If you were arrested, you need to seek assistance from a qualified West Palm Beach weapon offense lawyer at Haber | Blank LLP.

Unlicensed Open Carry and Concealed Carry

Carrying a firearm openly in the state of Florida is a second-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 60 days in jail. Unlicensed concealed carry of a firearm is also a second

$5,000, but recent changes to the law have made it possible for most gun owners to carry concealed without a permit. However, there are still exceptions to this law.

Unlawful Discharge of a Firearm

Discharging a firearm, even if the purpose is for recreation, in a residential area or an area that is otherwise off limits to shooting, is a first-degree misdemeanor. Firing a gun from a vehicle within 1,000 feet of another person is a second-degree felony.

Carrying a Weapon or Firearm While Engaged in a Criminal Offense

Carrying, displaying, using, or threatening to use a weapon during the commission of a felony offense is, itself, a third-degree felony, punishable by up to five years in prison. This offense is in addition to any other offenses incurred, such as robbery, burglary, carjacking, etc. Weapons include tasers, knives, brass knuckles, baseball bats, more than three ounces of mace, and any other object that can be argued to be a deadly weapon.

Carrying a firearm during the commission of a felony is a second-degree felony, which carries a maximum 15-year prison sentence. Like carrying a knife or club, bringing a firearm along during the commission of a felony is an offense in its own right; the offender will likely also be charged with other felonies.

Enhanced Penalties for Carrying a Firearm During a Felony Offense

If the defendant was carrying a firearm during the commission of certain felony offenses, such as aggravated assault, battery, robbery, etc., Florida’s 10/20/life law will be imposed. This law requires a judge to impose mandatory minimums, enhancing the initial felony offense, as follows:

  • 10 years for possession of a firearm
  • 20 years for discharging the firearm
  • 25 years to life if someone was seriously injured, or killed

Other Common Weapons Offenses in Florida

  • Improper exhibition or brandishing of a firearm
  • Illegal manufacturing of a firearm (ghost guns)
  • Unlawful purchase or sale of a firearm
  • Possession of an illegal firearm, such as a machine gun or short-barreled shotgun
  • Possession or discharging of a firearm on school property
  • Allowing a child under 16 access to a loaded firearm

Call a West Palm Beach Weapons Offense Lawyer

All weapons offenses must be taken with extreme care. If you were arrested for a weapons offense, do not waste another minute; call the West Palm Beach weapon offense lawyer at Haber | Blank LLP today at 954-767-0300 to schedule a free consultation.