Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Fort Lauderdale Criminal Defense Lawyer / Plantation Weapon Offense Lawyer

Plantation Weapon Offense Lawyer

Unlawful possession, possession of a firearm by a felon, unlawful concealed carry, illegal open carry, public discharge, and other weapons offenses are treated as serious crimes in Florida. Not only could you permanently lose your right to own firearms if convicted, but you could be facing serious jail or prison time as well. If you were arrested for any type of weapons offense, whether for a firearm or other allegedly deadly weapon, you need to discuss your options with a skilled Plantation weapons offense lawyer at Haber | Blank LLP.

Illegal Open Carry

While a recent change to Florida laws makes it much easier for most legal gun owners to conceal carry, open carry is still illegal in Florida in most cases (exceptions include traveling to/from fishing, camping, hunting, or target shooting). Open carry of a firearm in public is a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.

Illegal Concealed Carry

Most gun owners can carry concealed without a permit, thanks to a recent change in state law, but there are still exceptions to this rule. Eligibility requirements include (though are not limited to) the following:

  • Must carry a government issued ID
  • Must be a United States resident and citizen, or hold a permanent resident status
  • Must be 21 years or older
  • Does not have a physical ailment that prevents safe handling of a weapon or firearm
  • Must not have a felony conviction
  • Must not have been convicted for dependency of a controlled substance;
  • Cannot be an alcoholic
  • Cannot be in possession of a controlled substance during concealed carry
  • Does not have current injunctions in force for domestic or repeat violence

Unlawful Discharge of a Firearm

Unlawful discharge, even accidental, is a misdemeanor or felony offense in Florida. Discharging a firearm in a residential area is a first-degree misdemeanor, while discharging a firearm from a vehicle within 1,000 feet of another person is a second-degree felony, punishable by up to 15 years in prison.

Possession of a Firearm as a Felon

Felons cannot own or possess a firearm in Florida unless they have had their right to own a firearm restored. The eligibility requirements of this include an eight year waiting period, and more. Possession of a firearm by a felon is a second degree felony with a mandatory minimum stance of three years.

Unlawful Sale

Knowingly selling a gun to a person who is prohibited from owning a firearm in Florida (a convicted felon, a person convicted of domestic violence, a person who has a restraining order, and others) is a third degree felony, punishable by up to five years in prison.

  • Unlawful exhibition of a firearm
  • Possession of an illegal firearm
  • Illegal manufacturing of a firearm
  • Allowing a child under 16 access to a loaded firearm

Possession While Engaged in a Criminal Offense

One of the most serious gun crimes is to be armed while committing a forcible felony, such as robbery, burglary, theft, and assault. If convicted, you face mandatory minimums under Florida’s  10/20/life law:

  • 10 years for possession of a firearm
  • 20 years for discharging the firearm
  • 25 years to life if someone was seriously injured or killed during the commission of the crime

Call a Plantation Weapons Offense Lawyer

Do not assume that prosecutors will go light on you for any type of weapons offense, even if this is the first time you have ever been in trouble with the law. You need legal representation. Call our Plantation weapon offense lawyer at Haber | Blank LLP today at 954-767-0300 to schedule a free consultation.